Loading...
July 2014 / Bielefeld

Mental Calculation - brilliantly simple!

First open NRW Championship in mental calculation.

As part of the Bielefeld Science Festival “GENIALE” the first open NRW Championship in mental calculation took place and inspired Young and Old. The only requirements for participation were mastering basics in math and having fun.

The workshops and the championship itself found active participation.
Students from the University of Bielefeld from the seminar of Prof. Dr. Kleine, Department of Mathematics Education, prepared the participants for two days in the premises of the Old City Hall for the competition. In various workshops they revealed tips and tricks which facilitate the calculation of complex tasks in the head of all participants.

On Friday the fifth of August 2014 finally everyone could show what they have learned in their workshops.
In the 45 minutes lasting competition the mental acrobats had to crack numerous “head nuts”: calendar arithmetic, prime factorization, Roman numerals, addition, subtraction and multiplication of multidigit numbers. The only allowed aids in the art of mental calculation were glucose, a pen for writing down the results and their brains.
On Saturday the sixth of August 2014 the 34 acrobats received their winner's certificate, prizes and medals. All participants have demonstrated that they are brilliant mental calculators. In competition, the following arithmetic talents were one step ahead:

Rating:
1st Place Dr. Mike Hilbert
2nd Place Elke Kuge
3rd Place Lisa Linh Kollmann

Seniors (18 +):
1st Place Dr. Mike Hilbert
2nd Place Elke Kuge
3rd Place Tobias Kordsmeyer

Juniors (11-18):
1st Place Lisa Linh Kollmann
2nd Place Amy Zhou
3rd Place Johanna van Koningsveld

Children (7-10):
1st Place Hannah Sophie Blumör
2nd Place Lennart Pahl
3rd Place Theda Dreyer

Congratulations to all the winners and many thanks to all participants!

Kirsten Biedermann from the non-profit Association of the “Ravensberger Erfinderwerkstatt”, Prof. Dr. Michael Kleine and his students from the Institute of Didactics of Mathematics from the University of Bielefeld as well as the team of the “Andreas-Mohn-Stiftung” implemented the project together.

The aim is not to let the cultural studies of mathematics fall into oblivion.
Mathematics can be taught with joy. This was proven by the workshops and an evening spent with snacks and brain teasers.
The participants had fun to learn new calculation methods and to apply those.
The age didn’t matter. Some people, frustrated by school and a fear of math, discovered a new passion and their own abilities. New friendships were developed and addresses were exchanged.
This proves that mathematics on the one hand is quite fascinating and on the other hand also offers a great social value through learning and applying in communities. It will be an aim of the “Andreas-Mohn-Stiftung” to carry on this idea in the future.

You can listen to the WDR5 radio feature broadcasted on 07/31/2014 here.

Hertz 87.9 radio feature

 

--------------------------------------
Project management
Eva‑Maria Mohn
--------------------------------------
Date
July 2014
--------------------------------------
Contact
Kirsten Biedermann, Ravensberger Erfinderwerktstatt
Prof. Dr. Michael Kleine, Department of Didactics of Mathematics, University of Bielefeld
--------------------------------------
Homepage

Lädt...
Juli 2014 / Bielefeld

Kopfrechnen - genial einfach!

Erste Offene NRW-Landesmeisterschaften im Kopfrechnen

Im Rahmen des Bielefelder Science-Festivals GENIALE begeisterte die Erste Offene NRW-Landesmeisterschaft im Kopfrechnen Jung Und Alt. Einzige Voraussetzungen zur Teilnahme waren das Beherrschen des kleinen Einmaleins und viel Spaß an der Sache.

Sowohl die vorbereitenden Workshops als auch die Meisterschaft selbst fanden rege Beteiligung.
Studierende der Universität Bielefeld aus dem Seminar von Prof. Dr. Kleine, Fachbereich Didaktik der Mathematik, bereiteten die Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer an zwei Tagen in den Räumlichkeiten des Alten Rathauses auf den Wettbewerb vor.
In verschiedenen Workshops verrieten sie Tipps und Tricks, welche das Berechnen der komplexen Aufgaben im Kopf erleichtern.

Am Freitag, den 15. August 2014, konnten dann endlich alle zeigen, was sie in den Workshops gelernt haben.
Im 45 Minuten andauernden Wettbewerb hatten die Rechenakrobaten abschließend zahlreiche Kopfnüsse zu knacken: Kalenderrechnen, Primfaktorenzerlegung, Römische Zahlen umsetzen, Addition, Subtraktion und Multiplikation mehrstelliger Zahlen. Einzige erlaubte Hilfsmittel bei der Kunst des Kopfrechnens waren dabei Traubenzucker, ein Stift zum Niederschreiben der Ergebnisse und Köpfchen.

Am Samstag, den 16. August 2014, nahmen 34 beglückte Rechenakrobaten ihre Siegerurkunde, Preise und Medaillen entgegen. Alle Teilnehmenden haben unter Beweis gestellt, dass sie geniale Kopfrechner sind. Im Wettbewerb hatten folgende Rechentalente die Nase vorn:

Gesamtwertung:
1. Platz Dr. Mike Hilbert
2. Platz Elke Kuge
3. Platz Lisa Linh Kollmann

Senioren (18+)
1. Platz Dr. Mike Hilbert
2. Platz Elke Kuge
3. Platz Tobias Kordsmeyer

Junioren (11-18):
1. Platz Lisa Linh Kollmann
2. Platz Amy Zhou
3. Platz Johanna van Koningsveld

Kinder (7-10):
1. Platz Hannah Sophie Blumör
2. Platz Lennart Pahl
3. Platz Theda Dreyer

Herzlichen Glückwunsch allen Siegern und vielen Dank an alle Teilnehmenden!

Kirsten Biedermann von dem gemeinnützigen Verein der Ravensberger Erfinderwerkstatt, Prof. Dr. Michael Kleine und seine Studierenden vom Institut der Didaktik der Mathematik der Universität Bielefeld sowie das Team der Andreas-Mohn-Stiftung realisierten das Projekt gemeinsam.

Ziel ist es, die Kulturwissenschaft der Mathematik nicht ins Vergessen geraten zu lassen.
Mathematik kann mit Freude vermittelt werden. Dies bewiesen die Workshops und ein gemeinsamer Abend mit Häppchen und Knobeleien.
Die Teilnehmer hatten gemeinsam Spaß daran, neue Rechenmethoden zu erlernen und anzuwenden.
Das Alter spielte dabei keine Rolle. Manch einer, der von der Schule gefrustet und eine Scheu vor Mathe hatte, entdeckte eine neue Leidenschaft und sein eigenes Können. Neue Freundschaften entstanden und Adressen wurden ausgetauscht.
Somit wurde bewiesen, dass Mathematik zum einen durchaus spannend ist und zum anderen auch einen großen sozialen Wert durch das gemeinschaftliche Lernen und Anwenden bietet. Es wird auch in Zukunft ein großes Ziel der Arbeit der Andreas-Mohn-Stiftung sein, diese Idee weiterzutragen.

Hier können Sie den WDR 5 Radiobeitrag vom 31.07.2014 hören.

Hörfunkbeitrag von Hertz 87,9

 

--------------------------------------
Projektleitung
Eva‑Maria Mohn
--------------------------------------
Zeitraum
Juli 2014
--------------------------------------
Ansprechpartner
Kirsten Biedermann, Ravensberger Erfinderwerkstatt

Prof. Dr. Michael Kleine, Institut für Didaktik der Mathematik, Universität Bielefeld
--------------------------------------
Startseite